Robin Hobb’s – Fool’s assassin (7/10)

This image is copyright 2015 - Andrew Martin
This image is copyright 2015
Andrew Martin

I’m not going to give away the plot because I’m sure that you can find that elsewhere. Suffice to say that if you enjoyed the original Farseer Trilogy (see more at the bottom of the post) you’ll enjoy returning to the World of FitzChivalry Farseer.

It has been almost 20 years since the last of original trilogy, and Hobb has not lost her touch for delivering a page turner.

The book seems more complex than I remember the original trilogy. This time around there are two major characters and the dual viewpoint approach left me a little cold. The story still rattled along but I found that at the end of the first book the non-Fitz point of view saw me skimming and not reading through the book to get back to Fitz’s point of view.

I will allow that it is likely more my perception getting in the way, of wanting to be back in Fitz’s world, listening to his point of view because I feel such affinity with his character. There’s a second book (which I’m waiting on now) and then I’ll update my critique.

Definitely an 8 out of 10. And I really couldn’t put it down. I’m digging out the original trilogy and aim to re-read them shortly.

A little history

The Farseer Trilogy is a series of three books by Robin Hobb.

It follows the life of FitzChivalry Farseer (Fitz), a royal bastard and trained assassin, in a kingdom called The Six Duchies where his uncle, Prince Verity, attempts to wage war on the Red-Ship Raiders from The OutIslands who are attacking the shores of the kingdom by turning the people of the Six Duchies into Forged ones; a form of zombification which makes them emotionless. Meanwhile Prince Regal’s jealousy and the indulgence of his own selfish whims threatens to destroy Six Duchies. The books of the series are:

  • Assassin’s Apprentice (1995)
  • Royal Assassin (1996)
  • Assassin’s Quest (1997)
One thought on “Robin Hobb’s – Fool’s assassin (7/10)

Leave a Reply

