The last ship – William Brinkley (3.5/10)

Having watched the show already online (It’s not out here in Oz yet) I was hoping for a cracking read. Unfortunately the only cracking was my head as I laboured through this book. The language was arcane, over wordy and full of itself. Stripped back to modern English it might have been readable.

Instead the author saturated the text with early 20th century prose that often obscured the plot with over complicated phrasing and… but I think you get the idea now.

I found myself skipping through the book looking for the more readable passages while tying to make sense of the thing. Gave it up in the end and moved on. Watch the TV show – a far better experience overall.

Leave a Reply

