A Call to Duty – David Weber, Timothy Zahn (8.5/10)

In all fairness I thoroughly enjoy everything touched by Timothy Zahn. So this book had me hoping that my enjoyment would not falter; it didn’t.

A great read, and the first part of a new series in the Honor Harrington universe (AKA the Honorverse on which you can read more about here). Focusing on the journey of Travis Long throughout his early adult life the book’s blurb says: “Growing up, Travis Uriah Long yearned for order and discipline in his life… the two things his neglectful mother couldn’t or wouldn’t provide. So when Travis enlisted in the Royal Manticoran Navy, he thought he’d finally found the structure he’d always wanted so desperately. But life in the RMN isn’t exactly what he expected.”

I found it very engaging and encompassing. A very good read and something I enjoyed reading to boot. Some of the technical mumbo-jumbo left me a little cold considering I’ve not read much in the Honorverse for a couple of years. That aside, a good read and I’m onto the second part of the series now. More about that later this week or early next.

Leave a Reply

