Seveneves – Neal Stephenson (7/10)

Seveneves, despite its length, breadth and depth left me panting at the 800 plus page finish line, yet looking for more. Did I like reading it. Yes – mostly. Certainly the first half of the novel, set in the current time period, fairly cracked along. I felt each and every hope and failure and empathised with the characters. I liked the protagonists and despised the antagonists. Simple, grand and pacy; this novel was everything that I like in a novel.

Then the second half of the novel hit. And boy did I struggle to get through it. And then the final page. And I felt like the story finished too early. About 50 pages too early. Maybe setting up for a sequel?

Not sure on that but it left me looking for some means to tie it all off, close those story arcs, and see why I’d just read all those pages while enjoying so many, yet not all of them.

Leave a Reply

